Jump to content


Vegan And Organic

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Chaim613



  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:03 AM

What would be the issue if a restaurant for example was vegan (no animal or animal bi-products like milk, eggs, etc) as far as kashrus is concerned? These vegan people are very zealous with making sure that there is absolutely nothing but veggies etc....

#2 Rabbi Shapiro

Rabbi Shapiro


  • Administrators
  • 1,423 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:25 AM

First, Halachicly you may not rely on the testimony of these people - and certainly not on their zealousness - to give you comfort that they indeed only use Kosher ingredients. If your frum friend tells you she purchased the cookies she is serving you in a box that had an OU, you really have no knowledge of whether that is true or not. You may personally believe her, but that is your personal opinion, not objective knowledge. Objectively, you cannot say you know these cookies are Kosher and you would have to apply the Halachos of what to do when you do not know - meaning, you would not be allowed to eat the cookies.

However, the Torah said that when a trustworthy frum Yid testifies to facts that they witnessed, in certain cases we may consider that level of evidence sufficient.. One of those cases is where they said the box of cookies they purchased had an OU.

But random Akum do not have that Halachic level of believably and therefore you are not allowed to assume the food is Kosher.

Aside from that, even vegetables, when cooked in non-Kosher utensils can become non-Kosher, even though it would be totally OK for vegans.

#3 Benjamin



  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 03:31 PM

Old thread but I can think of 3 big issues even for vegans:

1) non kosher non-mevushal wine.

2) produce from Israel that wasn't taken care of

3) bugs. Yes, vegans don't believe in eating bugs but if they don't know how to check, they'll end up eating them.