Photo

Help Me Please, I'm Writing As A Desperate Friend . . .

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Bais Yaakov Girl

Bais Yaakov Girl

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:27 PM

I don't know exactly where this belongs, but I need serious help. As my username implies, I'm a Bais Yaakov girl in a frum community. There's a lot of isolation in my small suburban community, and as a result a lot of girls tend to rebel. I'm only a freshman, and I'm already seeing a lot of issues among classmates of mine. Honestly though, I need specific help with a close friend of mine.

There's a certain girl in my class. I've known her for several years now. She is very smart and a kind person. She sees me as a confidante so I know a lot about her; she is the last of eleven children and her father is bipolar. Privately she told me that at times she "hates him"; she says that it was different when she was younger because she could forgive him, but now she holds a deep grudge in her heart against him. 

She's very pretty but also insecure with herself, so it shouldn't have surprised me, maybe, when she took up with boys, like all of her sisters did. For several months already she's been "hanging out" with boys in parks . . . at midnight. At first, she assured me, it was all platonic, but then it quickly changed into physical relationships. Her grades slipped, she became even more insecure with herself. She informed me that she desperately wants to stop - in her words, "I want to stop breaking the laws of shomer negiah, etc., but I don't want to stop hanging out with boys."